Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wayland High School Library: Citation Guide

Official WHS Library Website

Information & Passwords

CITATIONS: Sources of information are cited in order to give the original authors/creators proper credit for their work and to document where an author heard or read the fact or idea that has been incorporated into a new work. The purpose of citations is to let the reader know where you obtained information so sources can easily be located and consulted.

All resources you use must be cited, including creative commons resources 

Citations should include: 
Author, Title, and where you retrieved it from (book, website, newspaper, magazine...)


Below you will find tools to aid and guide you in completing your assignments and properly citing your sources. You are always welcome to come to the library to get help with citing sources, evaluating sources, choosing a database, and conducting research! 

NoodleTools

NoodleTools is an online citation generator, use it to organize your information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. **Sign in with your Wayland email. Need help creating an account? Watch this video.

NoodleTools Help: tutorials on how to use it, NoodleTools Help Desk and NoodleTools Support. 

If Noodletools does not appear to have a form that fits a particular source well (e.g., a primary source found on a website), try this citation maker created by the Oregon School Library System, select "Other" from the source type menu on the right. You can create a more accurate citation, then copy and paste it into Noodletools or alphabetically in your works cited/bibliography.

Purdue Owl

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) houses writing resources and instructional material as a free service. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.

Information Literacy Crash Course

Information Literacy Lesson with Fault in Our Stars author John Green & his brother Hank Green

Citing Sources

What are Databases and why do you need them?

What are library databases? 

Adapted from Enoch Pratt Free Library

  • Library databases are like mini versions of the internet and provide access to carefully selected information sources. Ex: academic journals, magazines, newspapers. encyclopedias, videos, images, and other resources. 
  • Library databases are set up for you to customize your search in order to get the most relevant results
  • Library databases provide citation information
  • Library databases often contain full-text articles - you can print, save, email an entire article. 
  • There are different kinds of library databases: 

General Topics - Ex: Encyclopedia, Britannica, Gale OneFile

Specific Topics - Ex: Biography In Context, American History, Science Online

Evaluating Sources

Citing Sources

What is Plagiarism?

Plagiarism

Avoiding Plagiarism

Remember - It is perfectly acceptable to borrow information or ideas from other sources; but when you do so, you have to let your audience know that’s what you’ve done. 

Any time you borrow someone else’s work (words, images, video, audio) or ideas (info you didn’t know before you saw it, even if it’s paraphrased or re-interpreted),  you MUST cite it (let your audience know which bits are borrowed). If you don’t, you are plagiarizing, which is a serious issue. 

Unsure of what is considered plagiarism? WHS Academic Integrity Policy

Plagiarism SNL

Copyright & Fair Use