Skip to Main Content

Wayland High School Library: Social Studies/History Databases

Official WHS Library Website! Please click on tabs below to see more:

Links & Passwords

Below you will find databases that focus on Social Studies, US History & World History.

Click here for the list of high school databases, provided by the MA Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and MA Library System (MLS).

Most of the databases are geolocated where you will not need a password inside the school. For those that aren't as well as for home access: Database Passwords

US History Databases

ABC Clio American History surveys American history from the colonial era and American Revolution through to the nation's rise to eminence as a global superpower, analyzing American political conflict, economic development, changing culture and thought.


GALE U.S. History is useful for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, and the War on Terror.

ABC Clio Geography Databases

ABC Clio US Geography profiles all 50 U.S. states, with information on the government, economy, history, and issues of each. It also includes social and political challenges that each state faces as an independent entity, such as immigration, education, housing, unemployment, and management of the economy.


ABC Clio World Geography focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, & cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world. It includes info about: landforms & climate; natural resources & agriculture; environment; people; traditions & etiquette; food & holidays; national dress; art & landmarks; government, politics, & economy; as well as its history & contemporary issues the country faces.

Psychology Database

  

PROQUEST Psychology Database combines full text from psychology and psychosomatic scholarly journals, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos to help new students bridge theory with practice. It covers a wide range of topics including clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Gale Economics and Theory

GALE Economics & Theory has content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.

World History Databases

ABC Clio World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires and profiles city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval world, encompassing intellectual developments, wars and cooperation, religion, cultural practices, and more from prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance.

ABC Clio World History: The Modern Era covers the history of the world from 1500 to the present. This includes the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance; concurrent developments in Asia, Africa, and the Islamic world; the global impact of the Industrial Revolution; revolutions in France and Latin America; imperialism; nationalism; World Wars I and II; growing global powers, & more.

GALE World History reaches back to the ancient world—and forward to today's headlines—to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more.

Infobase eBooks Database

INFOBASE eBooks full text titles on world history, geography, & culture 

Video Databases

PROQUEST Academic Video Online includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and more. Award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.

INFOBASE Classroom Video On Demand video collection that provides thousands of videos on a wide variety of topics (English, Health, Science, History, & World Language including videos from the BBC, CNN, & HBO) - find inspiration for research papers, projects, & presentations - it is like youtube for Homework!  

Issues & Controversies Databases

ABC Clio ISSUES This database will help you develop an in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important issues.

INFOBASE Issues & Controversies understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, &
popular culture.

INFOBASE Issues & Controversies in History places you at the center of the great debates and conflicts in U.S. and world history, exploring the issues as the key players saw them, or, in some cases, as historians have interpreted them.

PROQUEST SIRS Issues Researcher Provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.


GALE Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This resource supports science, social studies, current events,
and language arts classes. 

Military & War Databases

GALE War & Terrorism gives users valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.


GALE Military & Intelligence Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs.

GALE Pop Culture Studies Database

GALE Pop Culture Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.