Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wayland High School Library: Science Databases & Websites

Official WHS Library Website

Database Links and Passwords

Below you will find our databases as well as other websites that focus on Science.

Click here for the list of high school databases, provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and Massachusetts Library System (MLS).

Most of the databases are geolocated where you will not need a password inside the school. For those that aren't as well as home access: Database Passwords 

Science Databases

INFOBASE Today’s Science gives in-depth explanations of important advances in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. 

Science Online

INFOBASE Science Online offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help you find a starting point for your research.

Gale - Environmental Science


GALE Environmental Studies & Policy covers environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies includes case studies, news, and videos with a focus on sustainability and the environment including content on global warming, food safety, health care access, and the impact of economic development on international relations.  

Teen Health & Wellness


Teen Health & Wellness - topics include: diseases, drugs & alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide & bullying, green living, LGBTQ issues, and more.

Gale - Science Databases

Gale In Context Science provides contextual information on 100s of today's most significant science topics. Includes real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity & weather.

GALE Interactive Science is paired with interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience that allows zooming in, rotating, or pulling models apart to explore and experiment with various scientific topics.

Proquest Science

PROQUEST Science is a definitive resource for both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.

Video Databases

Academic Video Online includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and more. Award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.

Classroom Video On Demand provides top-quality videos across the entire secondary curriculum, including life skills and guidance.

Science Related Websites

MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, and a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection.

HowStuffWorks got its start in 1998 at a college professor's kitchen table. From there, we quickly grew into an award-winning source of unbiased, reliable, easy-to-understand answers and explanations of how the world actually works. 

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Office of Scientific & Technical Information - Search more than 3 million US dept. of energy research results

SSRN, formerly known as Social Science Research Network - open access research platform used to share early-stage research, evolve ideas, measure results, & connect scholars around the world.