Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wayland High School Library: General Databases & Resources

Official WHS Library Website

Links & Passwords

These databases support general overall research and can be helpful in finding an array of information or in helping you determine what you would like to focus on.  

Click here for the list of high school databases, provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and Massachusetts Library System (MLS).

Click here for the complete list of databases, provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and Massachusetts Library System (MLS).

Most of the databases are geolocated where you will not need a password inside the school. For those that aren't as well as home access: Database Passwords 

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articlesbooksimages, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Gale One File Databases

GALE HS Edition - Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics.

GALE Academic OneFile - provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

GALE Academic OneFile Select covers everything from art and literature to economics and the sciences. This resource for academic research integrates the full text of publications from across the disciplines 

GALE General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors Internet searches, users can easily tap into sources that are guaranteed for quality.

GALE Criminal Justice is helpful for students studying law and law enforcement, terrorism, homeland security, forensic science, and more. Search full text articles from publications like Duke Law Journal, Fordham Urban Law Journal, and Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology

GALE Opposing Viewpoints


GALE Opposing Viewpoints 
is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. 

Infobase - E-library

PROQUEST eLibrary delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed to support every range of users, including HS students, college-prep & college-level researcher.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Encyclopedia Britannica HS Edition - provides quick facts and in-depth information on a variety of subjects. 

Britannica Library is a comprehensive encyclopedia with dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, and more

Video Databases

Academic Video Online includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and more. Award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® & more. 
    

Classroom Video On Demand serves the specific needs of students who are preparing for college by providing top-quality video across the entire secondary curriculum, including life skills
and guidance.

GALE Power Search

GALE Power-Search is a tool for cross-searching all the Gale databases. It will return a lot results, but is very helpful for experienced skim-and-scanners or specific essential questions.

"Issues" Databases

PROQUEST SIRS Issue Researcher provides authoritative insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected by trained editors and curated from over 2,000 global sources.

GALE Global Issues Supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering users to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.

ABC Clio Issues
- helps users develop an in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on today's most important issues.


INFOBASE Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, & popular culture.

CQ Researcher

SAGE CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

GALE Diversity Studies

GALE Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.