Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wayland High School Library: English/Literary Databases

Official WHS Library Website

Links & Passwords

Below you will find our databases relevant to English/Literature. 

Click here for the list of high school databases, provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and Massachusetts Library System (MLS).

Most of the databases are geolocated where you will not need a password inside the school. For those that aren't as well as home access: Database Passwords 

 

Infobase - Bloom's Literature

Bloom’s Literature includes critical essays, author bios, interviews, & profiles, as well as character analyses. More than 1,000 poetry & classic works of literature are available in full-text. There are essays on how to write papers, full-length videos of classic stage performances, & film adaptations of literary works.  There is also an extensive database on Shakespeare & his works.

Gale - Books and Authors

GALE Books & Authors Answers the age-old question, 'What do I read next?' Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics.

Gale - Lit Resource Center

GALE Lit Resource Center - Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Gale - Biography


GALE Biography Includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. Reference content is offered alongside videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. This resource is continuously updated to ensure users have access to the latest information.

Newspapers

The New York Times Full access dating back to 1851 (Spanish & Mandarin versions available as well) 

The Wall Street Journal is your source for authoritative reporting and analysis. Every day, with every story, we strive to lead the conversation and bring you the clarity and insight you need.

Britannica

BRITANNICA Library Comprehensive encyclopedia with dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, and more.

Video Databases

Classroom Video On Demand provides top-quality videos across the entire secondary curriculum, including life skills and guidance.

Academic Video Online includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and more. Award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.