This guide is for Mr. Gavron's Sophomore Social Studies
MUSEUM CURATION PROJECT
Task: Create a French & Indian War Museum - find at least 3 items to include in your museum's collection with a focus on ECONOMIC, SOCIAL, and POLITICAL artifacts.
Using library databases will ensure you create a quality research project
Databases provide you with:
Database Passwords - each database has a unique username and password (note - some only require a password, not a username)
Note: From home you will need to enter a username and password - in school, most databases are geolocated, however some still require you to use a username and/or password, at least the first time you use them.
Preparing your search:
What are your keywords? Searching a database requires entering search terms or keywords related to your search. Consider phrases, tag words, synonyms (don't be afraid to think outside the box).
Ex: "French and Indian War AND "artifacts"
OR
"French and Indian War" AND "politics"
Set up your search: Choose where in the document the database should search for your keywords:
Stick to Keyword or Entire Document:
Choose Your Search Limiters: Always choose "full document" - there is nothing worse than finding what could be the perfect resource, only to discover you do not have access to the full article, only the abstract (summary).
Additional Search Limiters: You can further limit your search by date and document type (the type of documents that are searchable can vary by database - unless you need something very specific (primary source, newspaper article, map) you do not have to use this limiter. Similarly using the date limiter is optional, but can be useful especially if you need current information.
