The databases & resources on this page should help you find the necessary information to complete your assignment or help you determine what you would like to focus on.
*Note: It is important you connect the database to your assignment. For example, if you chose a person for your topic you should probably choose the biography database or the Encyclopedia Britannica.
For all of the databases and resources the library has, please visit the WHS library website.
Most of the databases are geolocated where you will not need a password inside the school. For those that aren't as well as home access: Database Passwords
GALE Biography Includes over 5,000 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures.
BRITANNICA Library Comprehensive encyclopedia.
GALE Lit Resource Center - Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
Academic Video Online includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs, newsreels, and more.
Classroom Video On Demand provides top-quality videos on a ton of topics - find inspiration for research papers, projects, & presentations - it is like youtube for Homework!
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
GALE General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors Internet searches, users can easily tap into sources that are guaranteed for quality.
ABC Clio US Geography profiles all 50 U.S. states, with information on the government, economy, history, and issues of each.
ABC Clio World Geography focuses on the geographic, political, social, economic, environmental, & cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world.
INFOBASE eBooks full text titles on world history, geography, & culture
GALE HS Edition - Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics.
GALE Academic OneFile - provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
GALE Power-Search is a tool for cross-searching all the Gale databases. It will return a lot results, but is very helpful for experienced skim-and-scanners or specific essential questions.
PETERSON'S Test Prep - Find all the tools you need to discover your passion, ace your exams, and excel in your career. *Note - you will need to create a (free) account to access content.
PETERSON'S Career Prep - Choosing a career path doesn't come easy. Whether you're heading straight into the workforce or you're entering college first, our career tools help you get a handle on what you're interested in, the skills and training you'll need, and what you can expect from your career path. Discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you're interested in. *Note - you will need to create a (free) account to access content.
GALE Vocations & Careers - provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, and getting assistance on job searches and maintaining a career.