Skip to Main Content

Psychology Project: HOME

INTRODUCTION

This guide is for Mr. Gavron's Q1 PSYCHOLOGY PROJECT 
Task: Choose a topic in psychology and research an important question related to it. Next, write a paper or create a presentation for our class that explains the topic and makes a clear, well-supported argument answering the question you researched. (Think position paper in presentation format.)

Note: You can work alone or with ONE partner. (Partners must create a presentation (can be done “live” or recorded). If you work alone, you can choose any format.) 

TOPIC SUGGESTIONS:
Use these links to help you get started in your search for a topic:

PSYCHOLOGY TOPICS:  

This is an incomplete list, and you may find other psychological connections.

  • Altered States of Consciousness – dreams, sleep disorders, substance use and abuse
  • Human Development - gender roles, child and adolescent development, parenting styles, personality, gender identity)
  • Learning – education/school, fixed/growth mindsets, problem-solving, classical conditioning, operant conditioning, social learning, sports psychology
  • Memory – short-term and long-term memory, false memories, eyewitness testimony, Alzheimer’s disease, dementia, CTE)
  • Psychological Disorders - depression, anxiety, stress, suicide, schizophrenia, borderline personality disorders, eating disorders, phobias, antisocial behavior
  • Psychology and Ethics – psychology and the law, ethical standards, and practices in clinical psychology
  • Social Psychology - prejudice, stereotyping, group/peer pressure, attitudes, person perception, nonverbal communication, leadership, persuasion (marketing and propaganda), relationships, gender differences, LGBT issues
  • Trauma – violence, child abuse, sexual assault, post-traumatic stress syndrome (PTSD), Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE)

For more information and full instructions on your project please click HERE! 

WHY USE DATABASES?

Using library databases will ensure you create a quality research project 

Databases provide you with:

  • Up to date, relevant information
  • Evaluated sources
  • Citation information 
  • Subject specific content

Database Passwords - each database has a unique username and password (note - some only require a password, not a username) 

Note: From home you will need to enter a username and password - in school, most databases are geolocated, however some still require you to use a username and/or password, at least the first time you use them. 

WHY USE DATABASES?

DEVELOPING AN EFFECTIVE SEARCH STRATEGY

Searching Databases

Preparing your search: 

What are your keywords? Searching a database requires entering search terms or keywords related to your search. Consider phrases, tag words, synonyms (don't be afraid to think outside the box). 
Ex: "French and Indian War AND "artifacts"  

OR 

"French and Indian War" AND "politics" 

Set up your search: Choose where in the document the database should search for your keywords:
Stick to Keyword or Entire Document:

SEARCH LIMITERS

Choose Your Search Limiters: Always choose "full document" - there is nothing worse than finding what could be the perfect resource, only to  discover you do not have access to the full article, only the abstract (summary). 

Additional Search Limiters: You can further limit your search by date and document type (the type of documents that are searchable can vary by database - unless you need something very specific (primary source, newspaper article, map) you do not have to use this limiter. Similarly using the date limiter is optional, but can be useful especially if you need current information.