Why use the images, audio, and video found on this page?
These sites collect images, music, and videos that are copyright friendly. Either the original creator(s) have labeled their creations as free to use with a Creative Commons license, or the creations are in the public domain, which means the copyright has expired. From the user’s perspective, the presence of a Creative Commons or public domain license on a copyrighted work answers the question, “What can I do with this work?”
One goal of Creative Commons is to increase the amount of openly licensed creativity in “the commons” — the body of work freely available for legal use, sharing, repurposing, and remixing. Through the use of CC licenses, millions of people around the world have made their photos, videos, writing, music, and other creative content available for any member of the public to use.
To find out more about copyright, Public Domain, and Creative Commons, see this page on Copyright and Fair Use.
Note: Always download original image...Not the thumbnail
Creative Commons - Browse over 500 million images, available for reuse.
Burst - Free stock photos for websites and commercial use.
Flickr - Free stock photos to share and reuse.
Free Images - Find free stock images for your projects.
Good Free Photos - A large Public Domain photo repository with high resolution free photos, clipart, images, and vectors.
Gratisophagry - Download free high resolution stock pictures. Truly unique. Usually whimsy ;) Always free.
Morguefile - Free images for creatives by creatives.
Needpix - Over 2+ million royalty free, public domain images for all your needs.
Negative Space - High-resolution no cost stock images for personal or commercial use, all CC0 licensed images are completely free to use.
New York Times Public Domain Images - These images are taken either: 1. Directly from the New York Times online archives, 2. Direct scans of pre-1927 editions of the paper or of archival prints, or 3. Digital examples of images from the Times photo archive available at the New York Times online store.
Pexels - free stock photos & royalty free images shared by creators.
Photos for Class - Search now to download properly attributed, Creative Commons photos for school.
Pixabay - Over 2.4 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music shared by our talented community.
Pxhere - Images free of copyrights under CC0
Smithsonian Institution Public Domain Images - Only a very small percentage of our [Smithsonian] photographs presently exist in digital form, and many have not been fully researched and described. The included photos are a sample of the more than 13 million images in some seven hundred collections in the Smithsonian's museums, archives, and research centers.
Unsplash - source for freely-usable images, powered by creators.
Vecteezy - Download Free Vector Art, Stock Photos & Stock Videos.
Wallpaper Art - Community to share HD wallpaper
Wikimedia Commons - a collection of 78,394,319 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
Cute Stock Footage - Free 4K Stock Footage Clips
Gif Maker - GIFMaker.me allows you to create animated gifs, slideshows, and video animations with music online freely and easily, no registration required.
Pexels - free stock videos shared by the Pexels community
Pixabay - Over 2.4 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music shared by our talented community.
Prelinger Archives - This collection contains two kinds of material: 1. Public domain material that you can use according to the terms of the Creative Commons Public Domain license. 2. Other material that does not carry a Creative Commons license. If you wish to use this material in a project or production, please contact Rick Prelinger for further information.
Videezy - Free stock footage and 4K videos.
Videevo - 500,000+ stock footage clips , motion graphics , stock music tracks, and sound effects , all at your fingertips.
Free Stock Music Here, you can find royalty-free music for your YouTube videos or projects (blog, vlog, podcast, social network, etc.). All we ask is to put the attribution in the credits.
Free Music Archive - free resource to share royalty-free music.
Incompetech - Royalty free audio.
Orange Free Sounds - Free sound effects, music, loops, beats, & ringtones.
Pixabay - Over 2.4 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music shared by our talented community.
Sound Bible - Free sound clips for download in either wav or mp3 format. Free and royalty free sound effects and clips for video editors, movie scores, game designers, and weekend sound warriors.
Soundtrap - Create music online. Users can plug in their own instruments or use Soundtrap's, as well as record a song directly using an external mic.