Below you will find databases that link you to a variety of news sources.
Click here for the list of high school databases, provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and Massachusetts Library System (MLS).
Click here for the complete list of databases, provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC) and Massachusetts Library System (MLS).
Most of the databases are geolocated where you will not need a password inside the school. For those that aren't as well as home access:
Full access to articles from 1980 to present day
Full access dating back to 1851 (Spanish & Mandarin versions available as well)
Wall Street Journal is your source for authoritative reporting and analysis. Every day, with every story, we strive to lead the conversation and bring you the clarity and insight you need.
Provides recent and historic databases for teaching and researching notable world events over time or by location. Article and page level indexing provides easily searchable, first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of politics and social events for genealogists, researchers and scholars.
World News Digest contains a wealth of material and a dynamic interface that makes it easy to explore the events that shape our world. World News Digest frames events for research and is the place to start any reference project.
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields.
General OneFile allows researchers to find the information they want quickly. With intuitive searching that mirrors Internet searches, users can easily tap into sources that are guaranteed for quality (magazines, news, & journal articles on general interest topics & current events).
Allsides exposes people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other. Our balanced news coverage, media bias ratings, civil dialogue opportunities, and technology platform are available for everyone and can be integrated by schools, nonprofits, media companies, and more.
The Learning Network publishes about 1,000 teaching resources each school year, all using Times content — articles, essays, images, videos, graphics and podcasts — as teaching tools across subject areas. Activities for students, including writing prompts, quizzes, films and contests, and resources for teachers, such as lesson plans, webinars and PD tools are offered as well.
The Wayland Student Press Network (WSPN) is the online student media network of Wayland High School in Wayland, MA. Content of WSPN has always been published first and exclusively on the Web, focusing on visual communication and interaction with the viewers. Founded in 2007, WSPN was created with the purpose of raising awareness of school activities and connecting different parts of the community in a central location.