Biomes/Ecosystems Project
This Guide is designed to provide resources for your assignment on biomes. Use the tabs above to find more information on your topics.
Scope: Why are ecosystems, which are typically stable, recently changing so dramatically? What are humans doing to cause these changes? What are humans doing or could humans do to correct some of the damage? What could happen if we don't act?
Accessing and Searching Quality Sources Using Library Databases, Books & Resources
Database Passwords - each database has a unique username and password (note - some only require a password, not a username)
From home you will need to enter a username and password - in school, the databases should be geolocated and you should not need a password.
What is your question? All good research starts with an essential question.
Ex: What might be a possible effect of natural disasters and man-made disasters on an ecosystem?
What are your keywords? Searching a database requires entering search terms or keywords related to your search. Consider phrases, tag words, synonyms (don't be afraid to think outside the box).
Ex: "ecosystem" OR "biomes" AND "natural disaster" OR "manmade disaster"
Set up your search: Choose where in the document the database should search for your keywords:
Stick to Keyword or Entire Document (it will default to keyword)
Additional keywords to help you search more effectively
Taiga - Northern Coniferous Forest - Boreal Forest
Tundra - Polar
Temperate Forest - Temperate Rainforest - Deciduous Forest
Desert - Scrubland - Arid
Tropical Savanna - Grassland - Meadow
Temperate Savanna - Prairie
Chaparral - Scrubland
Rainforest - Jungle
Coral Reef - Ocean - Tropical - Saltwater
Choose Your Search Limiters: Always choose "full document" - there is nothing worse than finding what could be the perfect resource, then discover you do not have access to the full article, only the abstract (summary).
Additional Search Limiters: You can further limit your search by date and document type (the type of documents that are searchable can vary by database - unless you need something very specific (primary source, newspaper article, map) you do not have to use this limiter. Similarly using the date limiter is optional, but can be useful especially if you need current information
Read the Abstract/Summary: Most articles contain one which gives you an overview of the article
Learn from what you have: Skimming articles may lead to discovering new search terms
You are unlikely to get all the information you need from a single source: Pull what you need from each resource to bolster your evidence and answer your essential question as well as to create new knowledge
The overall purpose of research is to create something new!
All of the books in this collection concentrate on the Earth's Biomes, Ecosystems, and Habitats and are available to assist you as you research your individual topics.
NoodleTools: Online research management platform that promotes critical thinking and authentic research. It will help you organize your information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write. NOTE: When creating a new project choose ADVANCED under citation level. Sign in with your WHS email. If you are unsure how to create a noodletools account please come to the library and/or watch this video.
SHARING YOUR PROJECT: When you are in noodletools, once you have created your new project, you can add the members of your team - click on the + and it will ask you if you want to share it - you then enter your teammates email and then any source you add individually will be shared with everyone in your group!