Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wayland High School Library: Helpful Web Resources

Official WHS Library Website

PBS Learning Media

PBS LearningMedia™ is your destination for direct access to thousands of classroom-ready, curriculum-targeted digital resources aligned to Common Core and national and state standards.

Story Preservation Initiative

SPI produces original, age-appropriate fiction and nonfiction audio stories that are designed to capture students’ attention, inspire them, and open new pathways of creative and critical thought. We couple these stories with related, hands-on and standards-aligned lesson plans and projects that deepen student engagement for meaningful, real-world relevant learning.

Genially

Genially allows you to create presentations, infographics, video presentations, resumes, and more. Includes templates with access to photos, animations, and illustrations giving the user the ability to make any image or text interactive. Content can be shared through a link or downloaded.

Storyboard

Storyboard That is a storyboarding tool offering templates to add scenes, characters, text bubbles and more to storyboard frames.

Allsides

Allsides for Schools Helps educators prepare students to participate thoughtfully in democracy – and in life.

Google arts and culture

Google Arts & Culture Use tools to explore by time and color, zoom to view artworks in amazing detail, tour famous sites and landmarks, and more

PearDeck

Peardeck - add on in Google Slides for creating interactive presentations with pre-planned or impromptu questions to which students can respond.

Crash Course

Crash Course a number of free courses on a wide variety of subjects, including organic chemistry, literature, world history, biology, philosophy, theater, ecology, and many more!

Heritage Quest

Heritage Quest is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical source including unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. The database provides genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, with coverage dating back as early as the 1700s. 

National Geographic

National Geographic supports a diverse, international community of changemakers — National Geographic Explorers — who use the power of science, exploration, education, and storytelling to illuminate and protect the wonder of our world.

Smithsonian

Smithsonian Learning Lab is a major rethinking of how the digital resources from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, 9 major research centers, the National Zoo, and more, can be used together, for learning.

DPLA

Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.

Ed Puzzle

EDpuzzle create self-paced learning interactive video lessons. Add your own voice narration and questions. Check if students are watching your videos, how many times they're watching each section, and if they're understanding the content.

Anchor

Anchor- a free tools to create podcasts and host them on Spotify.

Flipgrid

Flipgrid can be used as a meeting place for any learning community to discuss topics through shared recorded videos that the community can comment on. 

Northwestern Knight Lab

Northeastern University's Knight Lab is an online tool to aid in digital storytelling. Includes features such as Juxtapose, Scene, Soundcite, Storyline, and StoryMap leverage online content.

Tiki Toki Timelines

Tiki Toki - Free timeline maker software for creating interactive timelines that you can share on the web.

Beyond Pad

Beyond Pad - Keep track of notes in an organized, structured way. Part white board, part digital Post-it note management site.

ERIC

ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, US Government full-text database of education research & information.

Nat'l Criminal Justice Reference System

US Dept. of Justice - publications related to crime, victim assistance and public safety.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar filters search results so it only includes academic research

NBER

National Bureau of Economic Research is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of 51 members from leading North American research universities, economics professional organizations, and the business and labor communities. It is a nonprofit research site for publications related to statistics, economic behavior and public policy.

Philpapers

Philpapers is a philosophy Documentation Center with a comprehensive index & bibliography of philosophy related research. 

Census Bureau

US Census Bureau - serves as the nation’s leading provider of quality data including current facts and figures about America's people, places, and economy.

Screen Cast O Matic

Screencastomatic - Capture and edit a video of what you see on your computer screen with audio. 

Read Write Think

Every lesson plan on ReadWriteThinkTM has been aligned not only to the IRA/ NCTE Standards for the English Language Arts but to individual state standards and Common Core State Standards, when applicable.

Opportunity Atlas

Opportunity Atlas - allows users to interactively explore data on children's outcomes into adulthood for every Census tract in the United States. This can inform local efforts to build equitable, prosperous, and healthier communities

Ancestry

ANCESTRY Note: In order to access this database, you will need a Wayland Public Library Card. Ancestry® helps you understand your genealogy. A family tree takes you back generations, ancestry.com is the world's largest collection of online family history records.